Inspiration!

So before I start this week’s blog, please read this link if you’ve never heard of the urban myth, known as “The Expressionless.”

Okay, you’ve read it and/or you know what the hell I’m talking about? Great! This has given me an incredible brainstorm for ideas involving a character very loosely based on this. By loosely, I mean a woman whose face is concealed in a mask painted with a impassive expression. I read this to my girlfriend and proceeded to creep her out (which is my personal ‘is this scary?’ index). Moreover the idea has a ton of potential to be absolutely terrifying.

Like many other urban myths, I seriously doubt this one is true, but really does make great fodder for a serial killer/horror piece. I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do with it yet. I’ve had ideas bouncing in my head for the last few weeks now about how exactly I’m going to write this one and moreover, if I’m going to put “Personal Demon” on the backburner, to work on this idea. One of the beauties of being a writer who just writes is, I maintain my own schedule. It’s just a matter of choosing which project to focus on.

In other news, I think I’m going to start adding small flash fiction pieces to the blog again. Nothing big, but something to keep me writing and keep my brain engaged. No ideas along that vein but as I’ve said before, I’ve been getting a bug for sci-fi stories so I may start there or I may do “Chuck Wendig’s Flash Fiction Challenge” again.

Happy Valentine’s Day for those of you who celebrate it!

2 responses to “Inspiration!

    • Well, “Personal Demon” is a few chapters in and letting it sit while getting this other idea onto paper may help give me some new ideas for it. Don’t even know what I’m going to call this new one.

Leave a Comment! Input is valuable to writers.

